DORO - review added 20th January 2009

Album Review: Force Majeure (1989)

For fans of: hard rock... and covers of Procol Harum songs

Doro - Force Majeure

First Doro release after the disappearance of the Warlock name, Force Majeure may point to an act of God but why? Everyone knows the devil has the best tunes.

The opening track is mental, although worryingly likeable. Whoever came up with the idea of copying a Procol Harum song with metal guitars is a bulls eye short of a dartboard. 'Mission Of Mercy', the Sugarbabes-baiting 'Angels With Dirty Faces' and the moody 'Hellraiser' are all excellent. 'I Am What I Am' speeds along like a runaway freight train in a hailstorm, whilst 'Beyond The Trees' is drop dead gorgeous, even if it doesn't get anywhere.

Force Majeure is a majestic album with a bucket load of memorable tracks. If you own one Doro album, you could do a lot worse than make it this one.

Check out... That 'A Whiter Shade Of Pale' cover. It's not as bad as it should be.

Track List:

1. A Whiter Shade Of Pale
2. Save My Soul
3. World Gone Wild
4. Mission Of Mercy
5. Angels With Dirty Faces
6. Beyond The Trees
7. Hard Times
8. Hellraiser
9. I Am What I Am
10. Cry Wolf
11. Under The Gun
12. River Of Tears
13. Bis Aufs Blut

Band websites: Doro Pesch , MySpace

Home | Sitemap | Links | FAQ | About Rock Realms | Contact Rock Realms | Bio's | Advertising | Privacy Policy

Copyright © Rock Realms 2008 - 2012