KORZUS - review added 11th June 2010

Album Review: Discipline Of Hate (2010)

For fans of: Thrash Metal... and Slayer

Korzus - Discipline Of HateKorzus formed in Brazil back in the early 1980s. The band - these days consisting of Marcello Pompeu on vocals, Heros Trench and Antônio Araújo on guitars, Dick Siebert on bass, and Rodrigo Oliveira on drums - may not have made it as big globally as thrash compatriots Sepultura, but they are still well regarded and still make some very BIG noise.

Their first album, Sonho Maníaco, came out in 1987.Their 6th studio release Discipline Of Hate follows 2004's Ties of Blood.

The sound is very Slayer-esque, arguably with a heavier edge. The band do not lack for talent, and some of the solos on this new album leave the work of Kerry King et al for dead.

Best tracks include the colossal 'Truth', the monstrously groovy 'Raise Your Soul', the speedy 'Revolution', the shout-licious 'Last Memories', the thunderous 'Under His Command', and the excellent final track, simply entitled 'Hell'.

Overall, this compares favourably with the last 3 or 4 Slayer releases both in sound and quality. It's quite simple really: if you like them, you'll like this. If you don't, you still might. Discipline Of Hate isn't a groundbreaking album, but for a fat slab of heavy thrash, it doesn't get much better than this in the current marketplace.

Check out... The noise of it all.

Track List:

01. Discipline Of Hate
02. Truth
03. 2012
04. Raise Your Soul
05. My Enemy
06. Revolution
07. Never Die
08. Slavery
09. Last Memories
10. Under His Command
11. You Reap What You Sow
12. Hell

Label: AFM Records
Artist's website(s): Korzus | MySpace

Bookmark and Share

Home | Sitemap | Links | FAQ | About Rock Realms | Contact Rock Realms | Bio's | Advertising | Privacy Policy

Copyright © Rock Realms 2008 - 2012